Kurt Bislin (voc/gtr) – Cla Nett (voc/gtr)

Deep Blues ... that’s what we got,
that’s what we play ... period!

Cla Nett and Kurt Bislin are going after that particular feel of the Blues, encompassing it with devotion and respect and play it, far from any three-chord banality, honest and pure.

Cla Nett (then leader of the Lazy Poker Blues Band) and Kurt Bislin first met back in the late 80s at legendary Atlantis Music Club in Basel, Switzerland. As a member of the Burton Brothers Blues Band (Larry and Aron Burton of Albert Collins’ Original Icebreakers descent) from Chicago, Kurt Bislin stopped there for a three day stint while touring Europe. On the second night Cla Nett was invited by the Burtons to sit in with the band and he played an outstanding set. Nett and Bislin kept contact and, over the years, off and on met on-stage. On one of those long nights of music and talk, to their big surprise they eventually found out they were related … second cousins … their grandfathers had been brothers!

The two veterans of the Swiss Blues scene now make a joined effort under the name “The Second Cousins”. Shorty after they founded the new band, they were invited to play the 2016 Lucerne Blues Festival. During their set legendary Blues singer/bassist Bob Stroger joined the band on stage to sing three songs. Furthermore the band played numerous club gigs and also appeard on the Tipitinas stage at the legendary “Badenfahrt” in 2017.

(Kopie 8)

Cla Nett

For more than 30 years Lazy Poker Blues Band’s founder, bandleader and guitarist, Cla Nett, is one of the most influential musicians within the Swiss Blues scene. For his engagement with the Blues in Switzerland he was honored with the Swiss Blues Award in 2004.

MORE...

In the early 80s the Lazy Poker Blues Band was one of the top bands in Switzerland and was engaged to play the big open airs and main concert halls. Concert tours throughout Switzerland and Germany (for instance, in 1984 with Joe Cocker) and impressive album sales are proof of their successful times. 1994 Cla Nett and his band went to Chicago to record the album «Halsted». Inspired by the city’s local scene and with guest musicians like Billy Branch, Chick Rogers, A.C. Reed or Kenny Neal, these recordings turned out to be a great album. The year after they did the whole thing all over again, this time with a stronger focus the guest soloists Jimmy Johnson, Little Smokey Smothers, Maurice John Vaughn, Pistol Pete Newell, Jon McDonald and Steve Freund. With Jon McDonald and Maurice Vaughn, Cla Nett then toured Europe, as he also did later with 2016 BMA AWARD winner (traditional Blues artist of the year) John Primer (Muddy Waters Band, Magic Slim Band). Cla Nett was co-founder of the somewhat odd «low-plugged» band «Blues NeTTwork», which toured Switzerland between 1997 and 2011. Besides being booked for the prestigious Lucerne Blues Festival, they also successfuly played Blues Baltica in Eutin und several other German festivals.

LESS...

(Kopie 9)

Kurt Bislin

With his former bands Bluecaster, The Raindogs and The D.Biters Kurt Bislin played hundreds of gigs all over Switzerland and the neighboring countries. In 1987 he met Aron Burton at the legendary “Limmatquai 82” club in Zurich and invited him to record a couple of his songs for the Raindogs album “Chicago Callin’”.

MORE...

During his later visits to Chicago, the encounter with the legendary slide gitarist John Littlejohn (Aron Burton’s brother-in-law) was particularly influential. In his unmistakable way Littlejohn showed Bislin the fundamental rules of the blues and took him to places in the city which one would most certainly avoid (as a Hillbilly from the Swiss alps anyway).

Back in Europe Kurt Bislin started touring with Burton Brothers (Aron and Larry) and played such renowned Swiss musical events as the Paléo Festival Nyon, the Montreux Jazz Festival and the Jazzfestival Ascona. On further tours with Larry Burton, among others with Bob Stroger on bass, he also appeared at the Burghausen Jazzfestival (the entire concert was broadcasted nationwide by the German national TV) or at Kemptner Jazzfrühling. In later years he and his band teamed up with Mojo Buford, legendary singer/harp player who was in Muddy Waters’ band for over 20 years. Other illustrious names on Kurt Bislin’s roster are Fillmore Slim, Sugar Blue, Sam Carr or Bleu Jackson.

In 2002 Kurt Bislin started a project with Texan singer, accordionist and pianist Doug Legacy, where, besides the Blues, the musical focus layed on Zydeco, Cajun Music and New Orleans Funk. All this climaxed in 2005 with the great album “Sittin’ On Top Of The World”, In addition to guest musicians like Waddy Wachtel (Stevie Nicks, Bob Dylan, Keith Richards) and Lee Thornburg (Tower Of Power), to name a few, Cla Nett also contributed splendid guitar work. The collaboration with Doug Legacy continues ...

LESS...

(Kopie 1)

The Rhythm Section

Markus Halmer (Bass) - Bernie Ruch (Drums)

Markus Halmer from the Zurich Weinland on bass and Bernie Ruch, jazz and blues drummer extraordinaire from Schaffhausen, form the Second Cousins’ rhythm section. As a well-seasoned team they deliver the irresistible groove.

MORE...

Markus Halmer was a member of the Augarten Blues Band for 20 years, Blues Rooster for 2 years, Bluescontainer for 2 years and, off and on he is a guest with Rockvereinigung Winterthur. Currently he plays with On The Roxx, JB’s Blues Rockers Deluxe and again with the resurrected Augarten Blues Band.

In his teens Bernie Ruch soaked up the blues by playing along with the song on the American Folk Blues Festival records, learning from his role models Clifton James, Fred Below and Odie Payne. Later he received drum lessons from legendary New York jazz drummer Max Roach, and ejoyed live appearances with the great US saxophonist Dexter Gordon. Bernie Ruch is a sought-after drummer in the domestic jazz scene, but has always followed his blues roots. He was a founding member of the iconic group Bluesfinger with Yvonne Moore, toured with Les Getrex (Fats Domino) and his Blues Group, and in recent years accompanied the Blues professor Wale Liniger.

LESS...

The new album is now released ...

The Second Cousins -
«Bloody Tears»

BurroBeat | Ser.Daia.Songs | SDS-002

Deep Blues aus der Schweiz

By Richard Koechli

«Deep Blues», that’s what nowadays the traditional music from Chicago, Louisiana or Mississippi is called, and it’s a very rare thing for this kind of music to come out of Switzerland. So, even more pleasant, every now and then such a credible marvel surfaces, and deep it is from the first to the last note! A quite proper mix of electric Chicago Blues, rough Mississippi tones, swampy Louisiana feel and lively New Orleans grooves. Swinging, sweaty, mesmerizing. Nett and Bislin take turns singing and playing guitar, the entire quartet harmonizes splendidly. Idiosyncratic the two singers tell their stories ... taken straight out of long life experience and miles apart from any parody.



Tracks

1. 31st Of July  (Nett)

2. Train down South  (Bislin/Rupp)

3. I'm Scared  (Nett)

4. Mean and Evil  (Bislin)

5. I Ain’t Got Enough  (Nett)

6. Done Change My Way Of Living  (Mahal)

7. Sailed To Dixieland  (Nett)

8. Handle With Care  (Nett)

9. Bound To Go  (Bislin/Eisenhut)

10. Boogie Fever  (Nett)

11. Believe Me  (Bislin)

12. Special Kind Of Karma  (Nett)

13. Bloody Tears  (Funchess)


Buy the album

The Second Cousins — Bloody Tears

CHF 23 per CD
including shipping costs in Switzerland
(shipping costs to other countries: please contact us)

Also available at:

Concert schedule

Friday, 11.16.2018, 8:30 pm

DIXIE- UND JAZZ-CLUB SARGANS WERDENBERG

Jazzkeller - Zunfthaus zum Löwen
Städtchenstrasse 60
7320 Sargans

www.jazz-sargans.ch

Saturday, 12.08.2018, 8 pm

Soul Kitchen
Hauptgasse 2
9620 Lichtensteig

In cooperation with Jazz Club Lichtensteig

Facebook > Soul Kitchen

Friday, 02.01.2019, 8:30 pm

BLUES CLUB BÜHLER

Bogenkeller
Rotfarb 1
9055 Bühler

www.bluesclubbuehler.ch

 

Monday, 02.25.2019, 7:30 pm

BLUES CLUB BODENSEE

Hotel Hecht
Hauptstrasse 51
9424 Rheineck

www.blues-club-bodensee.ch

Video

Kurt Bislin (Voc/Gtr) – Cla Nett (Voc/Gtr)

Deep Blues ... that’s what we got,
that’s what we play ... period!

Cla Nett und Kurt Bislin spüren dem so besonderen Gefühl des Blues nach, begegnen ihm mit Hingabe und Respekt und spielen ihn fernab jeder Drei-Akkord-Banalität ehrlich und pur.

Zum ersten Mal trafen sich Cla Nett (damals mit der Lazy Poker Blues Band) und Kurt Bislin in den späten Achtzigerjahren im legendären Atlantis Music Club in Basel. Als Mitglied der Burton Brothers Blues Band (Larry und Aron Burton von Albert Collins’ Original Icebreakers) aus Chicago machte Kurt Bislin dort während einer Europa-Tour für drei Tage Halt. Am zweiten Abend wurde Cla Nett von den Burtons zum Mitzuspielen eingeladen und überzeugte mit einem hervorragenden Set. So blieben sie in Kontakt und trafen sich über die Jahre immer mal wieder auf der Bühne. In einer dieser langen Nächte mit Musik und Gesprächen fanden sie schliesslich zu ihrer beider Überraschung heraus, dass sie miteinander verwandt waren … Cousins zweiten Grades (Second Cousins) … ihre Grossväter waren Brüder!

Die beiden Urgesteine der Schweizer Blues-Szene haben sich nun unter dem Namen «The Second Cousins» in einer festen Formation gefunden. Kurz nach ihrer Gründung wurden sie im Herbst 2016 zum Lucerne Blues Festival eingeladen. Im Lauf ihres Auftritts dort kam Bob Stroger, der legendäre Sänger und Bassist aus Chicago, für drei Songs als Gast auf die Bühne. Daneben spielten sie zahlreiche Club-Konzerte und gastierten u.a. 2017 auf der Tipitinas-Bühne an der legendären Badenfahrt.

Cla Nett

Cla Nett ist als Gitarrist, Gründer und Bandleader der Lazy Poker Blues Band seit über 30 Jahren eine der prägendsten Figuren in der Schweizer Bluesszene. Für sein Engagement für den Blues in der Schweiz wurde er im April 2004 mit dem Swiss Blues Award geehrt.

MEHR...

In den frühen 80er-Jahren gehörte die Lazy Poker Blues Band zu den schweizweit angesagtesten Formationen und wurde für die grossen Open-Airs und Konzerthallen in Deutschland und der Schweiz wie auch vom Schweizer und Deutschen Fernsehen gebucht. Tourneen in ganz Europa (u.a. 1984 mit Joe Cocker) und beeindruckende Tonträgerverkäufe zeugen von dieser erfolgreichen «Hoch»-Zeit. 1994 reiste Cla Nett mit seiner Band nach Chicago, um die LP «Halsted» einzuspielen. Inspiriert von der dortigen Szene und mit Gastmusikern wie Billy Branch, Chick Rogers, A.C. Reed oder Kenny Neal entstand ein grossartiges Album, auf das im darauffolgenden Jahr die «Halsted Sessions» folgte. Dieses zweite fokussierte stärker auf die Solisten Jimmy Johnson, Little Smokey Smothers, Maurice John Vaughn, Pistol Pete Newell, Jon McDonald und Steve Freund. Mit McDonald und Vaughn tourte er hier in Europa, ebenso wie später mit John Primer (Muddy Waters Band, Magic Slim Band), u.a. 2016 Gewinner des BMA AWARD als «Traditional Bluesartist of the year». Cla Nett war auch Mitgründer der schrägen «low-plugged» Band «Blues NeTTwork», die von 1997 bis 2011 die Schweiz unsicher machte und neben dem Lucerne Blues Festival auch am Blues Baltica in Eutin und diversen deutschen Festivals Erfolge feiern konnte.

WENIGER...

Kurt Bislin

Kurt Bislin hat mit Bluecaster, The Raindogs und The D.Biters die ganze Schweiz und das benachbarte Ausland bereist und hunderte Auftritte gespielt. 1987 lernte er im «Limmatquai 82» in Zürich Aron Burton kennen und lud ihn gleich zu Aufnahmen zum «Raindogs»-Album «Chicago Callin’» ein.

MEHR...

Bei seinen späteren Aufenthalten in Chicago war die Begegnung mit dem legendären Slidegitarristen John Littlejohn (Aron Burtons Schwager) besonders prägend. Dieser vermittelte ihm auf seine unverwechselbare Art die fundamentalen Regeln des Blues und zeigte ihm Orte in der Stadt, die man ansonsten (als Hillbilly aus der Schweiz sowieso) eher zu meiden pflegt.

Zurück in der alten Welt tourte er mit den Burton Brothers (Aron und Larry) und trat bei so renommierten Anlässen wie dem Paléo Festival in Nyon, dem Montreux Jazz Festival oder dem Jazzfestival Ascona auf. Bei weitere Tourneen mit Larry Burton, u.a. mit Bob Stroger am Bass, gastierte er auch am Burghausen Jazzfestival (der gesamte Auftritt wurde von der ARD gesendet) oder beim Kemptner Jazzfrühling. Später folgten Touren mit dem legendären Sänger und Harmonikaspieler Mojo Buford, der mehr als 20 Jahre Mitglied in der Band von Muddy Waters war. Weitere illustre Namen in Kurt Bislins Palmares sind Fillmore Slim, Sugar Blue, Sam Carr oder Bleu Jackson.

2002 startete Kurt Bislin ein Projekt mit dem texanischen Sänger, Akkordeonisten und Pianisten Doug Legacy, bei dem der musikalische Schwerpunkt neben Blues auf Zydeco, Cajun Music und New Orleans Funk lag. Daraus resultierte 2005 das grossartige Album «Sittin’ On Top Of The World», bei dem neben den Gastmusikern Waddy Wachtel (Bob Dylan, Keith Richards), Lee Thornburg (Tower Of Power) u.a. auch Cla Nett mit prächtiger Gitarrenarbeit brilliert. Die Zusammenarbeit mit Doug Legacy dauert an ...

WENIGER...

The Rhythm Section

Markus Halmer (Bass) - Bernie Ruch (Drums)

Markus Halmer aus dem Zürcher Weinland am Bass und Bernie Ruch, Jazz- und Blues-Drummer extraordinaire aus Schaffhausen, bilden die Rhythm Section der "Second Cousins". Als hervorragend eingespieltes Team liefern den unwiderstehlichem Groove.

MEHR...

Markus Halmer war 20 Jahre Mitglied bei der «Augarten Blues Band», 2 Jahre bei «Blues Rooster», 2 Jahre bei «Bluescontainer» und gelegentlich Gast bei der «Rockvereinigung Winterthur». Er spielt aktuell bei «On The Roxx», «JB's Blues Rockers Deluxe» und der wieder auferstandenen «Augarten Blues Band».

Bernie Ruch verinnerlichte in jungen Jahren den Blues, indem er die Stücke auf den «American Folk Blues Festival»-Langspielplatten mitspielte und so von seinen Vorbildern Clifton James, Fred Below und Odie Payne lernte. Später erhielt er u.a. Schlagzeuglektionen beim legendären New Yorker Jazz-Drummer Max Roach. Es folgten Auftritte mit dem grossartigen US-Saxophonisten Dexter Gordon. Bernie Ruch ist ein gefragter Schlagzeuger in der heimischen Jazzszene, hat aber immer auch seine Blues-Wurzel verfolgt. Er war seinerzeit Gründungsmitglied der Gruppe «Bluesfinger» mit Yvonne Moore, tourte mit Les Getrex (Fats Domino) and his Blues Group und begleitete in den letzen Jahren den Bluesprofessor Wale Liniger.

WENIGER...

Das neue Album ist da ...

The Second Cousins -
«Bloody Tears»

BurroBeat | Ser.Daia.Songs | SDS-002

Deep Blues aus der Schweiz

Von Richard Koechli

«Deep Blues» wird die traditionelle Musik aus Chicago, Louisiana oder Mississippi inzwischen genannt, und Musik dieser Art hört man hierzulande nicht alle Tage. Umso wohltuender, wenn hin und wieder eine glaubwürdige Perle erscheint, und deep ist sie vom ersten bis zum letzten Ton! Eine treffsichere Mischung aus elektrischem Chicago-Blues, rauhen Mississippi-Tönen, versumpftem Louisina-Feel und lebensfrohen New Orleans-Grooves. Swingend, schweisstreibend, hypnotisierend. Nett und Bislin wechseln sich ab in Gesang und Gitarre, das gesamte Quartett harmoniert prächtig. Beide Sänger erzählen eigenwillig intonierend ihre Stories; aus dem Leben gegriffen und meilenweit weg von jeder Parodie.



Tracks

1. 31st Of July  (Nett)

2. Train down South  (Bislin/Rupp)

3. I'm Scared  (Nett)

4. Mean and Evil  (Bislin)

5. I Ain’t Got Enough  (Nett)

6. Done Change My Way Of Living  (Mahal)

7. Sailed To Dixieland  (Nett)

8. Handle With Care  (Nett)

9. Bound To Go  (Bislin/Eisenhut)

10. Boogie Fever  (Nett)

11. Believe Me  (Bislin)

12. Special Kind Of Karma  (Nett)

13. Bloody Tears  (Funchess)


Die CD kaufen

The Second Cousins — Bloody Tears

für CHF 23 pro Exemplar
inkl. Versandkosten in der Schweiz
(Versand Ausland bitte anfragen)

Ebenfalls erhältlich bei:

Konzertdaten

Donnerstag, 24.01.2019, ab 20.30 Uhr

8 Bar
Rheingasse 8
4058 Basel

Facebook > 8 Bar

Freitag, 01.02.2019, ab 20.30 Uhr

BLUES CLUB BÜHLER

Bogenkeller
Rotfarb 1
9055 Bühler

www.bluesclubbuehler.ch

Montag, 25.02.2019, ab 19.30 Uhr

BLUES CLUB BODENSEE

Hotel Hecht
Hauptstrasse 51
9424 Rheineck

www.blues-club-bodensee.ch

Freitag, 12.04.2019, ab 21 Uhr

Tab Tab
Baumgartenstrasse 19
8200 Schaffhausen

www.taptab.ch

Samstag, 13.04.2019, ab 21 Uhr

HEAVEN Music Club
Hauptstrasse 35
8362 Balterswil

Facebook > HEAVEN Music Club

Archiv Konzertdaten

Archiv Konzertdaten

Samstag, 08.12.2018, ab 20 Uhr

Soul Kitchen
Hauptgasse 2
9620 Lichtensteig

In Zusammenarbeit mit dem Jazz Club Lichtensteig

Facebook > Soul Kitchen

Freitag, 16.11.2018, ab 20.30 Uhr

DIXIE- UND JAZZ-CLUB SARGANS WERDENBERG

Jazzkeller - Zunfthaus zum Löwen
Städtchenstrasse 60
7320 Sargans

www.jazz-sargans.ch

Samstag, 13.10.2018, ab 20 Uhr

BLOODY TEARS - Official Album Release

Treffpunkt Heuwiese
ARThaus
Heuwiese 1
9476 Weite

www.treffpunkt-heuwiese.ch

Donnerstag, 20.09.2018, ab 20.15 Uhr

EISENWERK FRAUENFELD
Eisenbeiz
Industriestrasse 23
8500 Frauenfeld

www.eisenwerk.ch

Montag, 27.08.2018, ab 20 Uhr

Restaurant Traube Mult
Mult's Music Monday
Mult 130
9200 Gossau SG

www.mult.ch

Samstag, 25.08.2018, 20.30 bis 21.30 Uhr

Klosterbergfest 2018
4051 Basel

klosterbergfest.ch

Freitag, 24.08.2018, ab 21 Uhr

tschuppi's wonderbar
Burgerstrasse 21
6003 Luzern

www.wonder-bar.ch

Freitag, 17.08.2018, 21.15 bis 22.30 Uhr

«Em Bebbi sy Jazz»
Gerbergasse/Gerberberglein Open-Air
4052 Basel

www.embebbisyjazz.ch

Freitag, 27.07.2018, ab 19 Uhr

Falken Pub-Bar
St. Gallerstrasse 27
Buchs SG

www.facebook.com/falkenpub/

Donnerstag, 14.06.2018, ab 20.00 Uhr

BLUUS IM MÜLLERHUUS

Müllerhaus - Das Kultur-Gut
Bleicherain 7
5600 Lenzburg

www.muellerhaus.ch

Samstag, 19.05.2018

Privatanlass

Freitag, 29.12.2017, ab 20.00 Uhr

GEGEN DEN WEIHNACHTSBLUES

Gaststube zur Kerze
Stadthausgasse 17
8200 Schaffhausen

yelp > Musikkneipe Kerze Schaffhausen

Samstag, 07.10.2017, ab 19 Uhr

Blues & Wild
Landgasthof Linde

8892 Berschis

Reservationen unter
www.lindeberschis.ch
Tel. 081 733 22 21

Samstag, 19.08.2017, ab 22.30 Uhr

BADENFAHRT
Tipitinas Stage
Bahnhofplatz
5400 Baden

www.badenfahrt.ch

Freitag, 31.03.2017, ab 21 Uhr

Sagi Oberwil
Möösli 40
3298 Oberwil bei Büren

www.sagioberwil.ch

Samstag, 25.03.2017, ab 21 Uhr

A4 Träff Pub
Schaffhauserstrasse 320
8452 Andelfingen ZH

www.a4-treff-bar.ch

Samstag, 21.01.2017, ab 19 Uhr

Blues & Dine
Landgasthof Linde

8892 Berschis

Reservationen unter
www.lindeberschis.ch
Tel. 081 733 22 21

Freitag, 11.11.2016, 23 Uhr

Lucerne Blues Festival
Casineum Club Stage

www.bluesfestival.ch

Samstag, 05.11.2016, 21 Uhr

8 Bar
Rheingasse 8
4058 Basel
www.8-bar.eu

Freitag, 14.10.2016, 20.30 Uhr

Blues Crew Oberschan
Hotel Alvier
9479 Oberschan


Video